# **Members of the Commission on Human Security**

### Co-chairs

# Sadako Ogata

Scholar-in-Residence, the Ford Foundation, and former United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees

## Amartya Sen

Master, Trinity College, Cambridge, and Nobel Laureate in Economics, 1998

### **Commissioners**

### Lakhdar Brahimi

Special Representative of the UN Secretary-General for Afghanistan and UN Under Secretary-General

## Lincoln C. Chen

Director, Global Equity Initiative, Harvard University, and former Vice President of the Rockefeller Foundation

## **Bronislaw Geremek**

Historian, former Foreign Minister of Poland

## Frene Frenny Noshir Ginwala

Speaker of the National Assembly of the Parliament, Republic of South Africa.

## Sonia Picado S.

President of the Board of Directors of the Inter-American Institute of Human Rights

### Surin Pitsuwan

Member of Parliament and former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Thailand

### Donna E. Shalala

President of the University of Miami and former Secretary of Health and Human Services, United States

## **Peter Sutherland**

Chairman and Managing Director, Goldman Sachs International, Chairman of BP and former Director-General of the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade

## Albert Tevoedjre

Special Envoy of the UN Secretary-General for Côte d'Ivoire, former Deputy Director General of the International Labour Organization and former Minister of Planning, Benin

## **Carl Tham**

Swedish Ambassador to Germany and former Secretary-General of the Olof Palme Centre